Pages: [1]   Go Down
«Print»
Author Topic: [CANDIDATE] Mikkel Paulson – Party Leader and Director at Large  (Read 552 times)
Mikkel Paulson
Party Leader
PPCA Representative

« on: July 20, 2010, 03:54:42 AM »

Me
My name, obviously, is Mikkel Paulson. I'm a freelance web developer based in Edmonton, and in my off time (and quite a bit of my on time) I volunteer with the Pirate Party. Most of the press releases and mass emails sent out by the Party are either written or heavily edited by me. I sit on many of the committees and do my best to contribute what I can. I do technical administration, I do public relations, and I do whatever else needs doing when there is no one else to do it. When we found out on Tuesday night that Bill C-32 was due to be introduced Wednesday rather than Thursday, I stayed up until 4:30 am to write a press release because there was no one else to do it.

I'm an idealist. I believe that we have not only the ability but the responsibility to remake the world according to our ideals and to correct the injustices we see around us. There are all kinds of ways to do this. I have, at various times and with varying degrees of success, operated a BitTorrent tracker, a local "junk bank" to allow people to give and get used and unneeded things for free, and an open news media organization pre-Wikinews, all of which were intended to in their own way to provide solutions to problems that I had seen. I am currently in the process of developing a free-as-in-freedom public-domain service to compete with AP, giving independent and university newspapers a cheap, accessible source for breaking, stock, and historical imagery, and helping them to compete toe-to-toe against larger established papers.

I speak English, French, ASL, and Norwegian. I can get by in Newspeak in a pinch.

My background