Pages: [1]   Go Down
«Print»
Author Topic: [UNSUCCESSFUL] Aaron Sears - Leadership Application  (Read 422 times)
monolithdigital
Forum Member

« on: July 24, 2010, 12:12:56 PM »

My Name is Aaron Sears, and am formally applying for the leadership position in the Pirate Party of Canada

Background  — I am currently serving in the Canadian Forces as a Naval Communicator  Esquimalt, B.C. I have been working IT for the navy for the last 7 years, and before that, as a graphic designer. I have  diploma in digital art and design, as well as going for my degree in 'business and technology' from Thompson Rivers University. I currently have one deployment under my belt in 2008, around the Somalian coast, and am currently an instructor for the next generation of todays serving members.

Disclaimer: While I mention my service for background purposes, this is no way is endorsed by DND. I am applying as a citizen, and not in any way affiliated with DND for the purpose of this request.

Platform — The whole idea for the pirate party, in my opinion, is to add a level of technological knowledge and understanding to the Canadian political spectrum. To date, it is mostly done by large Canadian corporate interests, which act in their shareholders behalf, and not of the public in general. There needs to be balance in this, for the sake of personal freedoms, encouragement of an entrepreneurial and competitive technological business culture, and balance in government.
This first phase of the pirate party needs to be about legitimacy, and while it may sound a little superficial, a bit of pandering to the center (as it is in Canadian politics) would be a good thing. It's generally an uphill battle, but I know the more professionals that join us, the better it will be, and am here for that purpose.